Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Avishai tutors in Sacramento, CA

Avishai H.

Private tutor in Sacramento, CA

5Avishai H.

5 reviews

Education

Applied Mathematics PhD Student at University of California Davis. Graduated with a B.S. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with Honors and Distinction. Double major in Applied Mathematics and Physics; minor in Computer Science. Honors Thesis: Modeling Gentrification: An Agent-Based, Amenities-Driven Approach.

Experience

In the same way that Steve Kerr makes a better basketball coach than Michael Jordan, the best math teachers are not always the most genius and innately talented, but rather the most devoted and hardworking. Aside from spending many hours mastering the mathematics and physics curriculums myself, I have – more importantly – spent even more hours mastering the techniques to teach them in a one-on-one setting. I have than 1000 hours of previous tutoring experience in middle, high school, and college education. I am most experienced in Pre-Calculus, the Calculus sequence, and the introductory Physics sequences; I have done everything from simply review practice problems for AP exams to devise weeks worth of lessons to help a student prepare for the upcoming year. A one-on-one setting is most conducive for what I find to be the most effective way to teach – asking questions. I pick from a wide variety of practice and homework problems and ask students to walk me through solving them; stopping them to correct and fill in gaps in understanding. This tactic both pushes the student to master the material to a level where they should be able to teach it themselves and simultaneously exposes holes in the student's knowledge. However, this doesn't work for every student! I recognize that all students are different and I hope to work with you to find the most effective plan of action.

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I love basketball and sports in general and have been a huge North Carolina basketball fan since I was a kid. When I find spare time; I love to spend it outside – whether that be backpacking, kayaking, or just a casual day hike here and there. I am also the proud owner of an Aussiedoodle puppy! His stress-relief services are available at a negotiable cost; the current rate is a belly rub and a dab of peanut butter.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!